#24 - Overcoming Mental Blocks

Counterintuitive Approaches

By Armaan Athwal

Overcoming Mental Blocks

View my site: https://armaanathwal.com/ 
Approximate read time: 5 Minutes

Today's Overview:

  • Struggling with work flow

  • Counterintuitive approaches for overcoming mental hurdles

  • Quote of the day

Struggling with Work Flow

I've been trying to get more and more on top of my game, but I've noticed that there are a lot more periods of struggle and mental blocks. These challenges can be incredibly frustrating and sometimes make it hard to stay motivated.

I feel as if when I purposely and with intention make time to be creative, some of that creativity fades away. It's almost as if the pressure to be creative on demand stifles my natural flow.

The harder I try to force the work flow and creativity, the more elusive it becomes.

It's an odd feeling to know that I can produce and that I want to create, yet I feel like the very thought of creating is what's preventing me. I feel as though whenever I attempt to tap into my creative energy on demand, a mental block appears. There are moments when I question whether the issue is expectation itself—the pressure to come up with something meaningful each time I sit down to work on a task.

This difficulty isn't just about running out of ideas, it's also about the dread that comes with silence of the mind. The blank canvas seems to be making fun of me and reminding me of how daunting it is to fill.

Getting into that flow state feels almost like tapping into a limited resource. This fear can become a self-fulfilling prophecy; the more I worry about not being able to create, the more difficult it becomes to actually do so. The anxiety about not finding that elusive state of effortless flow can itself become a barrier, making it harder to relax and let ideas flow naturally.

There are moments when I feel as though I'm wandering in a dense fog, unable to find inspiration and clarity. Though they're hazy and unclear, I can make out the general outline of concepts and ideas.

This ongoing battle with creative challenges is about more than just a passing lack of inspiration, it's about questioning the very essence of creation. I'm trying to figure out how to balance the responsibilities and expectations I put on myself with the passionate delight of creativity.

It's about learning to believe that the creative well is far from dry, even when it seems like it's barely a trickle, and about navigating the tension between structure and freedom.

Counterintuitive Approaches for Overcoming Mental Hurdles

When I encounter that mental wall, I’ve found that doing something seemingly counterintuitive can help.

Examples:

  • Instead of staying at your desk, which feels like you’re forcing yourself to work, go outside for a walk. This change of environment opens your mind and allows ideas to flow more freely. Stepping away from the workspace and immersing yourself in nature or simply moving around can break the cycle of frustration and spark new inspiration.

  • When you can’t fall asleep, try to be okay with it and avoid forcing sleep. The more you try to force it, the more active and awake your brain becomes. Instead, engage in activities that occupy your mind in a relaxed way, such as reading, journaling, praying, or meditating. These calming activities can help ease your mind and eventually lead to a more natural and restful sleep.

  • If you're feeling overwhelmed by stress, instead of trying to power through, engage in a short burst of high-intensity exercise, like sprinting or doing jumping jacks. The physical exertion and adrenaline rush can help release built-up tension and boost your mood by triggering the release of endorphins.

These examples highlight the effectiveness of adopting counterintuitive strategies to overcome common mental blocks and challenges. These approaches show the importance of mindfulness and flexibility in managing mental well-being, offering effective alternatives to conventional methods and promoting a more holistic approach to mental health.

Quote of the Day

“Slow down and remember this: Most things make no difference. Being busy is a form of mental laziness — lazy thinking and indiscriminate action.” - Tim Ferriss

Busyness often masks lazy thinking and thoughtless action, emphasizing the importance of thoughtful prioritization over mere activity.